First, tell us a little bit about yourself. What are your interests outside of CrossFit?

Well let’s see, I turned 50 this past summer (WTH) and have 3 sons Jake 19, Sean 17, and Ryan almost 15 and my buddy (dog)Capt 2. I grew up in Northern NY and joined the Marine Corps at 23, left and never looked back. Got out of the Marine Corps and moved to Holly Springs. Moved to Oak Island NC for 14 years then came back to the area 4 years ago and currently live outside Pittsboro. I own a landscaping company and specialize in hardscapes. Truly enjoy creating outdoor living spaces for folks.

I have to be somewhere near water. Coast or lake is fine with me. I tend to prefer a lake as my favorite hobby is wakeboarding with my boys. They prefer wakesurfing however I prefer the speed and agility of wakeboarding.
When I retire it will be to a tropical island where all I will need is a pair of shorts, flip flops, sunglasses and a drink cup.

How and why did you get involved in CrossFit?

I originally got into CrossFit 6 years ago with a friend in Southport NC.  It was a smaller gym and really enjoyed going and then work and life got in the way. I wanted to get back to CrossFit for a while and finally stopped in by chance and Tom happened to be in. That’s all it took, and now I’m completely hooked.

What was the first workout you completed?

I have no idea but it kicked my butt. That much I remember!

What are your current and future training goals?

My long term goal is simply to be healthy. As part of that I would like to increase more in strength and definition. If Men’s Health magazine calls I want to be ready, lol.

What is your favorite activity or lift, e.g., pull-ups, dead-lifts, running, front squats, snatches, burpees, etc.?

I have a love hate relationship with thrusters, mostly love. I like wall walks as well. Looking forward to getting BMU’s. Soon I hope.

What is your least favorite activity or lift?

You can keep those damn pistols, hate em. I don’t mind box jumps but my shins may have other opinions.

What PR are you most proud of achieving and why?

Probably would be back squats. It was my first 1 rep max test and I achieved much more than I thought I could.

What do you enjoy more, strength or conditioning and why?

Hard to say. Like them both. Just enjoy the worn out feeling after the workout and I get it from both.

Favorite food(s)?

Love seafood of any kind. Sushi is my normal go to when out. If I’m having a cheat day then Italian food all the way.

What are 3 fun facts about yourself?

I was born in Hawaii. Don’t remember any of it, I was 1 yrs old when we left. Damn.

I enjoy live music of any type and always wished I took up an instrument. Recently bought a drum set and I really suck!

Never liked running until I became a Marine. Getting back into it recently and think I may be enjoying myself. Maybe it’s the camaraderie or being outdoors but what ever it is I keep signing up for races. I have a few folks at the gym to thank for the boost I suppose.