First, tell us a little bit about yourself. What are your interests outside of CrossFit?

I grew up in the huge town of High Point, NC, (Furniture capital!!!). I attended Catholic school my whole live until I went to Elon University for College. I met my handsome husband at his going away party there, the night before he moved to Beaver Creek, Colorado. After a few years of long distance, we moved to Charlotte, NC together where I worked as a tech in the Trauma ICU at CMC hospital. I discovered my love of medicine and the physician assist career, got into PA school at Campbell University and moved to the Apex area. I spent 4 years working in the ER at WakeMed as a PA and recently transitioned to Family Medicine with UNC in Apex for better work/life balance.

When I’m not working or going to CrossFit, I’m usually tending to our little farm in Apex, with 4 horses, 3 dogs, and 2 cats. My biggest passion is life is rescuing animals and Brian has had to become very proficient in saying “NO”. Thank goodness for him or we would probably have 100 of them by now J

How and why did you get involved in CrossFit?

My classmate in PA school was a crossfit coach at Embark. He was always badgering me to try it. I thought crossfit was just flipping tires and lifting heavy things in a hot garage. Why would I want to do that?! I finally tried it the week after graduation and signed both Brian and I up for a whole year immediately after the workout. Poor Brian never had a choice.

What was the first workout that you completed?

Kalsu…and yes, I signed up for a whole year even after this soul crusher.

100 thrusters at 85#. 5 burpees on the minute every minute. I definitely scaled the weight and still almost died.

What are your current and future training goals?

A year ago, I would have told you my goal was 1st place at triangle invitational, top 500 in the open, or to become more proficient in ring muscle ups. My goals look very different this year. My training motivation now comes from a determination to have a healthy pregnancy with a smooth delivery of our baby boy.

What is your favorite activity or lift, e.g., pull-ups, dead-lifts, running, front squats, snatches, burpees, etc.?

BMUs, HSPU, pistols, box jumps

What is your least favorite activity or lift?

OHS and lunges with weight overhead

What PR are you most proud of achieving and why?

Probably Murph. It took 50:49 straight through with a weight vest. 2 years prior, it took me 3 minutes longer at 53:41 without the weight vest. I feel that this is the most mentally challenging wod all year. This years’ murph will look very different!

What do you enjoy more, strength or conditioning and why?

Probably conditioning although I think performing a proficient lift is far more satisfying. I’ve never been a very strong lifter but I enjoy the strength component more everyday.

Favorite food(s)?

Man, this is a hard question for a pregnant girl haha. Pretty much ALL of the food J but I really love peanut butter bacon sandwiches, pizza, salmon, and blueberries/rasberries/blackberries/strawberries. REALLY missing wine and sushi right now!

What are 3 fun facts about yourself?

  1. I’m classically trained in piano, guitar, and voice. I also play acoustic and electric guitar.
  2. I am super into playing polocrosse and have a goal to one day go to play in the world cup!
  3. I was 6th in the country in intercollegiate Dressage