First, tell us a little bit about yourself. What are your interests outside of CrossFit?

I was born and raised right up the road in Durham. I played just about every sport growing up but by the time high school rolled around I decided to focus on cross country and baseball (primarily baseball). After that I went on to play baseball and study business at Greensboro College. For work I am a territory manager for East Coast Metal Distributors where I sell HVAC equipment to contractors. If you need a repair or system replacement let me know and I can recommend some trustworthy contractors. Outside of CrossFit I spend most of my time hanging out with my rock star wife (Lea) and two princess daughters (Margaret and Norma). Sports wise, baseball has always been my biggest passion and I still play in summer and fall men’s wood bat leagues. Other than that, I enjoy snow skiing, mountain biking, craft beer and watching as much sports as possible.

How and why did you get involved in CrossFit?

After college I was pretty burned out on baseball and working out, and didn’t pick up a baseball or weight for about 2 years. I would go trail running or mountain biking to stay in shape. I would also go through binges of going to “Globo Gyms” but never went consistently enough to see any results.  I did two Groupon trials of CrossFit at different boxes but never made the commitment after the trials were over. After my first daughter was born I basically quit exercising all together for a year and a half and the dreaded “dad bod” started creeping in fast. My wife recommended that I give CrossFit another shot, and it stuck this time.

What was the first workout that you completed?

I don’t remember the exact workout, but I do remember it had a lot pull-ups. I didn’t have kipping pull-ups but could do a few strict and I struggled badly. The biggest thing I remember is how humbling it was.


What are your current and future training goals?

Touch my toes!  I feel like I have pretty good flexibility overall, but I have never been able to touch my toes and I’m still about 6” away.

Short term:

  • 300# back squat
  • 400# dead lift
  • 250# C&J
  • Butterfly Pull-ups

Long term:

200# snatch

What is your favorite activity or lift, e.g., pull-ups, dead-lifts, running, front squats, snatches, burpees, etc.?

My favorite lifts are the two Olympic lifts. I am fascinated with the amount of skill and technique that go in to these, much like that of a baseball swing or throwing motion.


What is your least favorite activity or lift?

T2B is my kryptonite. I can string 6-8 together to start then it’s just singles after that. It drives me crazy because everything else hanging from the bar or rings is not an issue for me. My inability to touch my toes probably doesn’t help.


What PR are you most proud of achieving and why?

240# C&J last month


What do you enjoy more, strength or conditioning and why?

Strength. Cardio/conditioning has always come easy to me but strength has always been a challenge to grow and maintain. I really enjoy lifting heavy and working on form and the results that come from that. I recently bought a bar and bumper plates for my garage, so I can practice the Olympic lifts at home. PRx profile rack coming soon!

Favorite food(s)?

I love Thai food and Eastern NC BBQ, but it’s hard to beat a good steak. And don’t forget the beer!

What are 3 fun facts about yourself?

  1. My wife and I attended game 2 of the World Series last fall at Fenway Park. Go Sox!
  2. Since July I have drank 115 different beers
  3. My top speed skiing is 58 MPH